Login with Social

Facebook Google
Primary Schools

Mount Tabor Primary

Mount Tabor
St. John
Mount Tabor Primary Principal
Toni Hunte - Principal

Mount Tabor, St. John



Mount Tabor Primary School is located in the parish of St. John. The school was established in the early nineteenth century by Mr. Edmund Haynes proprietor of Haynesfield Estate in St. John, as a missionary school to educate the slaves on his estate and other neighbouring estates. Its original name Mount Chance was changed to Mt. Tabor in 1826, a name which the head of the missionary thought bore some significance to the biblical Mount Tabor traditionally identified as the Mount of the Transfiguration. The school has retained that name to this day.

During the last decade of the nineteenth century the students were taught in two separate buildings until 1948 when both schools came together with a roll of three hundred and thirty-seven students. Mr. Alexander Graham who was Head Master of the Boys' School became Head Master of the school which was then called Mt. Tabor Mixed School. The school remained a composite school catering to students up to the age of sixteen until September 1987 when the students of the senior school were transferred to other schools.

The present school which is erected to the east of the old school was built as a joint project by the Government of Barbados and the World Bank to replace the former school which was in need of extensive repairs. It was officially opened on March 08, 1991 by then Minister of Education Mr. Cyril V. Walker. The Principal at the time was Mr. Carlton Batson.

Since its opening, there were two amalgamations with other schools. On September 01, 1994 the school was amalgamated with Cherry Grove Primary School. Mrs. Merlene Browne who was Principal of Cherry Grove Primary School became Principal of the amalgamated shools. This was followed one year later by the amalgamation with Hothersal Primary School in 1995. Mrs. Browne continue as Principal until September 2001.

Our Motto

Working Together To Help One Another.

Mission Statement

To promote the holistic development of students, enhance their self esteem and assist them in realizing their full potential.

School Organization



There are ten (10) Heads of Departments and six (6) Year Heads with responsibilities for Form Levels 1-6.



There are five forms at year levels 1 to 5. Each year level is managed by a Senior Teacher.



Various sports including athletics, badminton, cricket, football, hockey, netball and volleyball.



Activities include Band, draughts, etiquette, choir and I.S.C.F.
Mount Tabor Primary Senior Teacher
Laura Green - Senior Teacher

School Song

We're building up Mount Tabor
We're building up Mount Tabor
We're building up Mount Tabor Primary School

Hey brother won't you help
Hey sister won't you help
We're building up Mount Tabor Primary School

Hey Infants won't you help
Hey Infants won't you help
We're building up Mount Tabor Primary School

Hey children won't you help
Hey children won't you help
We're building up Mount Tabor Primary School.